Skip to content

Paradise (re)Lost, Paradise (re)Regained

December 13, 2015
  • smell

I had lost the ability to smell because of my conditions. Nosey parkers who want to get into the reasons can find out from here. I was into homeopathy, even though scores of people, with whom I had more than a couple of minutes to interact or converse advised me to go for polypectomy, a surgical intervention to remove the offending parts. I resisted all such advises mainly because in most cases the polyps recur and there was a big chance that you might lose your smelling capacity for good (or bad). I was patient till my homeopath doctor Dr. Anjana Pradeep, with her small bottles of pills restored my sense of smelling partially. Then disaster struck, she had to move to Kochi. There was a break in treatment. She came to Chennai for 3 days in a month, but my schedule and hers did not match. The condition resurfaced for the worst.

My well wishers pulled out their daggers for polypectomy again. I parried as usual and when things got really bad, I went to meet the good doctor again. Obviously the medicines she gave me earlier did not work and she had to work her way again with her medicines and prayers for nearly 2 years till the polyps shrunk and I could, hold your breath, breathe properly and smell. You wouldn’t understand my joy of being able to smell petrol, deodorants, mint, onions being sautéed in coconut oil, oranges, chrysanthemums…… the list is endless.

But like with all good things, there is a flip side, the stink and stench of the city assaulted me with double the force. My ability to walk past overflowing garbage cans and overflowing sewers with a nonchalant smile has been shattered. I had  half a mind to name this post ‘Purgatory Lost and Purgatory regained’. But like many of the Chennaites, who realized that the inconveniences they faced for a few days of the unprecedented rains, was nothing compared to the misery of most others who had lost their houses, vehicles, relatives and pets, I count myself lucky.

I have to thank my doctor for her medicines and faith. My wife for constantly nagging me to get a treatment. My friends and family for suggesting various solutions ( I have a sneaking suspicion that they were doing this unable to bear the stink I was throwing around as I walked oblivious to my own body odours). I thank God for letting me smell nature again.

I will leave you with this video. It is a little gross and can be viewed only by those above 18. With this disclaimer  I can throw caution to the winds.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2015 23:40

    I’d written this some time ago, in ‘Paeans to Pangs’:

    A friend I know lost her sense of smell
    Hence, of most food’s taste, she couldn’t tell
    Her appetite she lost
    ‘Twas Hunger’s high cost
    A year later it returned, so the story ends well!

  2. venkata ramana permalink
    December 15, 2015 15:45

    good one.Your polyps are gone. Are you happy now or upset….don’t forget to take zinc containing food/multivutamins frequently if want to avoid recurrence- your welwisher.

  3. February 19, 2016 03:06

    Hope you are doing good, Govind…haven’t heard from you in a while!

    • Govind permalink*
      March 22, 2016 19:06

      Hi Alok. I am doing good. The last 2 months have been hectic. How are you?

Leave a Reply

