Skip to content

Call 4 U

March 9, 2015

4 callsCall #1:

Female: This can’t go on like this. I have a feeling that you are not so serious about us. Tell me what are you going to do?

Male: Relax baby, I told you, I need some more time……

Female: …. But you have been saying this for a very long time. For the last two and a half years you have only been extending your timelines. I can’t wait any longer. I think I am pregnant.

Male: Come on baby, I told you to be careful. Anyways, everything will get sorted out soon. I had taken a huge insurance on my wife and I don’t want any unnecessary spot-light when this thing bursts. It has been over a year now and I think the needle of suspicion will not point to me. Everything is arranged. Think baby, of all the wealth we will inherit and the insurance will be just a bonus.

Female: okay,okay, I hope all this hush hush will end soon.

Call #2:

Female: Just think dear, I will be home in a weeks’ time. I don’t know how I passed these 3 years, living away from you. And I know it was equally difficult for you. I can’t thank you enough for letting me pursue my dream career. Thank God, the ordeal is over and the wait has been worth it. When I come back there, I will be heading the region. I am dying to be with you….. forever.

Male: I too am very happy that you will be back. And I have not done anything great by letting you go the US, when your company recognized your talent and sent you to their head-quarters on deputation. Baby, I love you and I am very proud of you. Reached home yet?

Female: No, just left office. Had to stay back to finish some work. I am now walking to the metro……. ( a few scuffling sounds could be heard), here take all that I have ,don’t kill me, No….. no…. help,help……..(and then silence)

Call #3:

Male: Hello, it has been done… as promised.

Male: Hope there was no witness or clues that could lead this to me.

Male: It was pretty late and the street was deserted. I will take all her belongings and make it look like a mugging. I expect a transfer of the balance to my account in an hour.

Male: Will do

Call #4:

Male: We have got a call from a man saying that he heard his wife being murdered. He is so incoherent He lives in your jurisdiction. Take a couple of constables with you and find out what all this is about. I will text you his address. Take a statement from him.

Male: Yes sir.

(As he ends the call a notification pops on his phone ‘Saturday Musings has shared a post “Call 4 U” with you’.)

PS: Sparked from a news item I read today.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Venkata Ramana permalink
    March 10, 2015 09:25

    Intrestrestingly twined.Good one.pls continue this further.

  2. March 15, 2015 19:03

    Reminded me of the Sydney case. Was that the news item?
    I did not even read/know of it, till I spoke to my DIL who is studying there, and lived very close to where this happened! To say that this read was chillingly real to me, and would be even more so to her, I suppose, says a lot of your story telling skills. But then that is something I’ve always been telling you.
    Collecting them, I hope you have. To publish of course.

  3. May 14, 2015 11:38

    What Usha says. To publish, of course. 🙂

  4. February 10, 2017 17:10

    When it happens three times, you should just do it.. publish 🙂

    • March 6, 2017 12:54

      Ashu, don’t goad me. I am worse than the neighbourhood Buffalo.😀

Leave a Reply

