Skip to content

Raja, Rani………Jo(c)ker

October 24, 2013

It has become customary to do a post on the 24th October every year. Today is myking-and-queen-of-hearts wedding anniversary. Twenty third to be exact. In fact, it is also my wife’s twenty third wedding anniversary today. That’s about the only thing that is common….Wait a second, we both have 2 sons. And well, that’s about things that we have in common. Otherwise we are like Cheese and Chalk. It is another matter altogether that due to the long association with me, the cheese is becoming chalky. The chalk on the other hand has always been a little cheesy.

So how has the year been? It has been a mixed bag. At the work place we have been facing some difficulty, brought about by some political reasons and by some economic conditions as well. I have been given some additional responsibilities which is making me a little more grouchier. Our elder son would be graduating in a few months time. He plans to continue his studies. I hope we will be able to let him pursue his dreams. The younger one is giving us some tense moments as he prepares for the board exams in March .In the recent Parent-Teacher meet, all his teachers, had something good to say about him, but were unanimous that he is being distracted by the various quiz competitions he attends, representing his school. Though I assured the teachers that I will have a talk with him regarding this, I think I wouldn’t curb his interest. I have just warned him that he has to get into the college of choice for the course of his choice on merit and that I wouldn’t be able to pay a huge capitation fee to get what he wants. Fair deal I presume. That leaves my mother and my wife. My mother is fine and by far the most active person in our house.  I have a small doubt that she fell into a cauldron of magic potion when she was a baby. I have saved the best for last, my wife (ohmigawd, what lengths will some guys go to have a peaceful existence!). She has not changed much mentally, but physically I think living with me all these years are taking its toll. She continues to have faith that I will be able to take us out of the present condition we are facing. Sometimes, this kind of trust scares me shitless, but it also sometimes gives me immense strength that I might actually get on to the parapet of our balcony and zoom off to save the world from whatever it has to be saved from. I only need to remember to have a fresh pairs of underwear to wear over my trousers or whatever I am wearing that day. You wouldn’t want to see a super hero zipping by in an under-wear full of holes, would you?

I have done my part of the custom. It is your turn now. Wish us well into the 24th  year.

P.S. Wish you and your family a very Happy Diwali. Let this Diwali light up our life.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2013 21:31

    “My mother is fine and by far the most active person in our house. I have a small doubt that she fell into a cauldron of magic potion when she was a baby.” 🙂 I have a mother who’s just this way! Tiny, but terrific, and unputdownable 😀

    Best wishes on your anniversary to you and your wife! May this 24th year see you all go from strength to strength, mental, physical, emotional, and may the days be balmy, perfect and blessed 🙂 Best of luck to the sons too, as they journey onward in their chosen fields 🙂

    Usha, Thank you so much. It is a very late acknowledgement but as they it is better late than never.

  2. October 24, 2013 22:25

    I read out your post to the L & M and made him laugh. Best wishes to both Chalk and Cheese from us. 🙂

    • November 10, 2013 12:38

      Thank you Shailji. I am deeply honoured. 🙂

      • October 24, 2016 23:16

        I did it again this year. And he laughed again too. 🙂
        Happy Anniversary! 🙂

      • October 24, 2016 23:30

        Thank you Shail and to the Colone as well.

      • October 24, 2016 23:31

        🙂

  3. Bragadeesh Prasanna permalink
    October 25, 2013 02:00

    True that trust sometimes create indescribable panic. Loved the subtle humour throughout the post. 🙂 Congratulations on the twenty fourth year. vaazhtha vayathillai.. vanangugiren 🙂

    • November 10, 2013 12:41

      Thank you Bragadeesh. Intha vaazttha vayathillailaya vaichkitu ethanaalaku dabaipinga. Vaazhtha vaayasu venda manasu iruntha podum. 🙂

  4. sujaselvam960401 permalink
    December 3, 2013 15:11

    Very Belated wishes Kutti Boss.

Leave a Reply

