Skip to content

Does Size Matter?

August 1, 2010
It is all in the mind they say. Despite knowing that a small one performs as good as a big one, there is always an obsession for owning a big one. People have become such exhibitionists and there is a general feeling that the bigger it is, the better is its performance. I have asked several friends and surprisingly everybody has the same opinion. The other day, this discussion came up with wife. She got angry with me as she thought I was pulling her leg. But she did confess that though she didn’t know much about the subject, she too felt that a big one should be better. Am I the only one in the whole world that thinks other-wise? I definitely don’t want to walk with a big bulge in my pants or anywhere else for that matter to show my superiority.
To me a mobile phone is just that- a phone to stay connected at all times. I strongly feel that there is no situation that requires immediate attention except maybe health related or very rarely work related. And I would rather prefer a camera to take pictures, a radio or an i-pod for my entertainment, a laptop to browse the web or to send mails. The world wouldn’t crash if I failed to reply to an e-mail the minute I receive it and I am not conceited enough to believe that my ‘friends’ are waiting with bated breath for my hourly status updates or tweets or buzzes. So any small phone would fit my requirement.
Is this the cry of ‘sour grapes’ from a guy who loses, misplaces or hold your breath, drops his phone into puddles of water regularly? Maybe it is. What do you think? Does size really matter?
11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 23:41

    Ah, Govind is trying to be naughty now. Now you may say that it's all in the mind of the reader. I knew this was coming!!! Clever, clever Govind but your readers are cleverer!!Size does not matter except for certain things (winks).Joy always,Susan

  2. August 2, 2010 13:18

    Ha ha ha! hmmm, even for me a mobile phone is just that- a phone to stay connected at all times….shilpa

  3. August 2, 2010 13:22

    I am not for "suggestions" of a dubious nature. But when it comes to a mobile phone, I have one that is 6 years old, colourless, almost like a fossil. It belonged to my son and am retaining it for his memory. Even a vegetable vendor or auto driver has a better looking one. But it works like any other mobile, though I get only one call every three or four days, most of them 'wrong numbers'.Gaurav

  4. August 2, 2010 20:29

    mobile phone is like any other utility..use it wisely and don't get withdrawal symptoms if your hands aren't wrapped around one ! i spent the day in office today without my cell phone and it was a great feeling. But Chin, surely you know that BIG is beautiful and the more you flaunt it, the better !!!!

  5. August 2, 2010 22:53

    Rofl :DYes, sometimes size mattersWhen we find our ego battersAnd leaves us looking like mad-hattersMumbling mine's big or small- all blathers 😀 :DPersonally speaking, size should not matter, but then again, we are rather big in ego, so we look for matching sizes elsewhere too.

  6. August 3, 2010 09:56

    Size does not matter. It is the quality that matters. BIG is BAD sometimes, when it comes to your luggage. I have a mobile phone like that of Uncle Gaurav and it only serves the purpose it is supposed to do. My friend told me that he was designing a toaster with a mobile fixed in. If you want to fry an egg on it, it can also be done.As for me, I am in Guwahati and expecting a call from CARE International to attend a conference in the U.S.Soumya

  7. August 4, 2010 21:13

    @ Susan, Yeah it's the naughty forty. Or is it forty eight.@ Babuman, I will call you daily when I come back.@Priya, how right you are. Sometimes they are quite handy, but mind you only sometimes.@ Usha, LOL. I want to forego my ego so that I don't have to own a phone then.@Soumya, lol@ the toaster,then people would demand a refridgerator. Take CARE. 🙂

  8. August 6, 2010 18:54

    LOL…the first part was quite misleading. To be honest, I was a staunch supporter of the "phone should be just a phone" till about a year ago. Then I was gifted a phone with a camera, music player and all the fixings. I hang my head in shame and admit that I have now crossed over to the dark side. It does some in handy when the kiddos do something funny or cute and you don't need to hunt for you camera.

  9. August 7, 2010 16:33

    @Dreamer, the first part was a Red Herring. I agree with you about the utility of a mobile phone and it is getting smaller and smaller

  10. August 7, 2010 16:44

    Test

  11. August 27, 2010 14:20

    LOL.. naughty naughty PRG 🙂 I was completely out of mobile phones, btw. If u remember I even wrote a post about life coming full circle, and me going back to a very basic LG phone with no ringtones even! Recently, I decided to go full steam ahead, and got a Nokia 5800 Xpress music (the hubby got an iPhone). Still to use it properly. But after all that, I do feel a phone must just do its work. For entertainment, one must use the Computer!Btw, you didn't reply to my earlier message on your blog, about meeting in Chennai! A couple of us met,and had a great time!

Leave a Reply

