Skip to content

SMOKE SIGNS

June 28, 2010
At 9.15 pm, an old ailing lady was startled awake from a fitful sleep by it, a boy studying for his class test was disturbed by it. The CFO of a leading MNC who was scouring the Economic & Business sections of the newspaper was irritated by it. An infant started howling after having been rudely awakened by it. It made the ladies who were engrossed in the serials to look up momentarily from the television sets.
It was a motor cycle horn. It had a different sound. It was shrill and sounded like a clarion. I have been hearing this everyday for the past 10 days at precisely the same time. Is it a signal to his love that he is on his way? I wonder.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 08:06

    LOL! A smoke signal that criesCome, my sweet, my heart fries (???)In the heat of the passion, it dries!And so, my love, I simply tries and tries :D!!!I wonder too. Sometimes the young 'uns can be so transparently … 🙂

  2. June 29, 2010 19:16

    Maybe a signalmaybe madness.Long time. Where are you these days?Joy always,Susan

  3. June 30, 2010 22:57

    @Usha, looks like you are paying me back with my own coin. :)@Susan, physically I am in Chennai. 🙂

  4. pinashpinash permalink
    July 1, 2010 11:44

    May be it's the warning that you are going to be tagged at PNA @ Wp U are tagged Govind 😛

  5. July 2, 2010 15:07

    🙂 Reminds me of a time long long back when I used to hear someone making a sharp sort of signal (with mouth). I wondered what was happening, sure that some clandestine meeting was being arranged. I happened to mention it to the L & M and he started laughing. It seemed our neighbor in the apartment above gave that signal as his scooter entered the compound so that his wife could have the door of the house open.

  6. July 2, 2010 15:08

    @pinash, hey he is anti-tag!! 😛

  7. July 7, 2010 23:16

    @ Shail,LOL@ clandestine meeting. Somehow our mind works to bring some spice into the otherwise mundane life.@Shail, you sound like warning Ashes as if I was a terrorist or a naxalite or aMaoist. 🙂

  8. July 16, 2010 11:39

    What a noisy love! 😀

  9. July 16, 2010 22:36

    @ Shas, somebody mistook 'love is in the air' for love is in the air horn. 🙂

  10. July 18, 2010 05:57

    He he he, very interesting 🙂 Loved the warmth of home.. the scene you have painted here by your words :-)Btw, PRG, why have you not visited my blog in the last century????? Missed all those 4-liners!!

  11. July 21, 2010 10:18

    Hehe!! I liked the way you went about this!! nice post! N Lol, the smoke signal!! 😀

  12. July 25, 2010 10:43

    @ Madam writerzblock, I think it is a caseof mistaken identity. I am not a day over 18. possibly I cannot be yhe one who didn't visit your site for over a century. :)@Sashu, Thanks and glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

