Skip to content

Absence makes the heart grow fonder

May 24, 2009
Last Friday was ‘black Friday’ for me. First, my laptop crashed and the guys from IT dept. had to take it to the ICU to salvage whatever they could. Second, my wife left me. After years of empty threats,she finally decided enough was enough. Her only worry was our sons. She was clearly worried about the kind of influence I would be in her absence. When I told her what she could do I could do better, she made up her mind. Probably, that was the proverbial last straw that broke the camel’s back. Things have started going awfully wrong between us of late. She had started hurling allegations thick and fast. And I believe there is no basis to her complaints.
She says that I don’t mind her at all. I might be engrossed in the newspaper or would be working on my computer,but I would be hanging on to every word she has to say, always looking for bombs which are usually preceeded by ‘ you-shouldn’t-get-angry-with-what-I-am-going-to-tell-you’. I always pretend that I have not heard what follows,but it is for both our sakes.
She says that I don’t talk to her like I used to. That is a load of bull. Everyday in the morning I ask her where my socks are,where my shoes are, where my keys are and in the evenings where the remote is and what is for dinner? If this isn’t conversation, I don’t know what is.
She says that my sons and I have taken her for granted and treat her like a maid/servant. This is absolutely baseless. When I have not offered to pay her any wages or salary for the work she does, I don’t know what makes her think so.
Anyway the last 2 days, I have been trying to run a tight ship, but I am finding it to be extremely difficult. While my elder son likes ‘Dosas’, my younger one likes ‘idlis’. Maybe that is why my wife makes dosas in the shape of idlis. While No.1 likes hot milk with his corn-flakes, No.2 insists that his mother mixes his Chocos in cold milk. Yesterday No.1 wanted to know where his sports banian and white socks were for his PT class. It took a while to find them from a heap of washed clothes. It would have been on his bed all neatly pressed if his mother was there. My son gave me a disapproving look,as if I was the reason for his delay. Thank God junior’s classes have not started yet.There are a whole lot combinations of his uniform for each day of the week. I think they are already missing their mother. I can see it in their eyes.They were blaming me for letting my wife go.Even I have started feeling that it was a mistake to let her go. She would have stayed if I had just asked her to.I think she won’t be able to be away from her children for long and I know she will come back. Especially since I was the one who booked her return ticket for next Friday,after visiting her parents in Ernakulam.
What they say about knowing the value of something in its absence is true, I had a horrid time for a day without my laptop.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Dhiman permalink
    May 25, 2009 23:51

    That’s basic nature of human being, we ‘miss’ what we give a “Miss” when we have it…There’s old Bengali saying which means “We understand the importance of a tooth only after we loose it”

  2. shail permalink
    May 28, 2009 14:28

    Made sure she returns by booking that ticket in advance eh PRG?? Hmmm… I can understand your missing your laptop though. πŸ˜›

  3. Govind permalink
    May 29, 2009 07:44

    Dhiman@ Thanks for dropping by and for leaving your comments.
    Shail@Yup. She’s like the air I breathe,the absence suffocates

  4. Salil permalink
    May 29, 2009 10:41

    PRG,
    That brought a smile.
    “Maybe that is why my wife makes dosas in the shape of idlis” – lol
    Somebody once defined marriage as an expensive way to get your laundry done free.
    Here’s hoping that your wife returns on Friday!
    Cheers,
    Salil

  5. Sujatha permalink
    May 29, 2009 22:35

    Hai Kutti Boss

    you are in line with the tamil saying “Oosiyai gantham izhukkum, Uththamanai snegam izhukkum” Yes Boss, you are attracted by all by your words, way of writing, etc.

  6. Govind permalink
    May 30, 2009 08:34

    Salil@ Thanks mate for your kind words
    Sujatha@ Good to see you here. Thanks,but as usual I didn’t understand what you said. HA HA HA!!! :))

  7. onlooker permalink
    May 31, 2009 12:04

    πŸ™‚ nice post, and definitely absence makes the heart fonder!!

  8. Govind permalink
    May 31, 2009 21:56

    onlooker@ Thanks. I have made addition to my favourites. Hope you liked them too.

  9. writerzblock permalink
    June 26, 2009 00:38

    PRG, I've been trying to post this comment here, but it just doesnt work! The comp hangs or there is some problem! And just went back to my own blog and found your comment there πŸ™‚

    Trying to repost my comment:
    Cho Chweet! Didn't expect this post to be romantic but it did have strong undertones πŸ˜‰ Ensue your wife reads this post and she might just advance her travel dates for a long-overdue date with you?

  10. Govind permalink
    June 26, 2009 20:08

    Pallavi thanks for finding the time to come visiting.

Trackbacks

  1. No Thangamani…. Enjoy | Saturday Musings

Leave a Reply

