Skip to content

Welcoming 2009

December 31, 2008

A very happy New Year to all you guys.

Let this year be filled with happiness, joy, peace, good health, pleasant memories, successes, prosperity and everything you wish for and more.

As Oprah Winfrey said, “Cheers to the New Year and another chance for us to get it right”, what better time than now to impose upon you my New Year Resolutions. So here it goes.

1. Get back to my Reading ways:I think I have inherited the ‘reading’ gene from my mother’s side. I grew up listening to my grandmother narrate Pearl S Buck’s “The Good Earth” widening the horizon of my imagination. I used to go through the illustration of her collection of entire works of Charles Dickens (including his unfinished ‘The Mystery of Edwin Drood’).The books were thick hard-backs, maroon in colour with gold letters and used to adorn a glass almirah in our ‘tharavadu’ (ancestral house). My grand uncle too was a voracious reader. It was said that he couldn’t even sit for lunch or dinner without something to read. Books were not allowed in the dining room, by the decree of my great grand father. As there was no plastic those days, everything from gold to mustard was sold wrapped in old newspaper. These he would smuggle in, to be read while eating. No wonder that I got bitten by the reading bug very early; graduating from Amar Chitra Katha to Enid Blyton to R K Narayan to Dame Agatha Christie to Sir ArthurConan Doyle to James Hadley Chase to Nick Carter to Irving Wallace to Irving Stone to Arthur C Clarke to….the list becomes endless. I want to re-discover the pleasure of reading.

2.Blog regularly: The naming of my blog as ‘Saturday Musings’ was with a lofty idea that I will be able to key in something worthwhile every weekend. That, I am unable to do so bring us to my third resolution.

3.Stop Procrastinating: I am a kind of guy who would not put off things until tomorrow, which can be put off until the day after. I work better when the deadline is staring me right in the face. There is a flip side to it, some of my problems have got resolved even before I decided to act on them.

4.Start Exercising: One of the disadvantages of having a touring job is it makes it very hard to follow a routine, and once the continuity is broken it becomes even harder to get back to the groove. This coupled with the fat rich foods I get to eat on such tours have made me carry excess baggage especially around my waist. The time has come that I can no longer joke around saying, “No, I am not over-weight, I am just 4 inches shorter for my weight”, even though it helped me win a contest “Can you put words into my mouth?” on Jammy’s blog.

5.Learn Burmese:Having to travel to Myanmar regularly on business, I need this badly. I have just started off with Mingalabar which is an equivalent of Hello and Kay zu tin baad de for thank you. When your Burmese associate introduces you to a client and then when they both rattle off in Burmese, you have a sneaking suspicion that they are making fun of you or passing a nasty comment, which only gets strengthened when they both turn and smile at you. And having to say Kay Zu tin baad de to that is adding insult to injury.

Someone once said ‘A New Year’s resolution is something which goes in one YEAR and out the other. I hope I will be able to hold on to them the whole year. I hope.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shail permalink
    January 8, 2009 13:31

    Happy New Year to you too PRG. I wish you’d stick to your 2nd NY resolution!Ahhh Pearl S Buck brings back memories of reading her books ages back. Reading had taken a back seat for me too. I am back to it now. Right now it is Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

  2. Snoopy permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:14

    Hi,everyone! My New Year resolution is not to become older, but to become younger. Now I feel that I could have done so much, but have not. Some scientists say that there is a possibility of travelling faster than light (as opposed to Einstein’s Theory of Relativity)and then you can go back to the past.Not in my lifetime, I regret.

Leave a Reply

